7 Horror Movies To Watch On Netflix…

Okay so we all have done it. We want to watch Netflix, but instead we spend hours flipping through the different movies trying to find the right one. And before we know it we’ve spent hours not watching a movie but instead looking for a movie. Even though Netflix has a large number of movies for selection, it takes awhile to find something that’s actually good. Since I’m a horror movie fan, I’ve sifted through plenty of the horror movies that are on Netflix. Below are some good ones that I’ve seen so far. Although all of the movies on my list are scary, they all are different in theme. So beware. They’re going to scare your pants off.

#7: Honeymoon (2014)

A newlywed couple’s honeymoon is ruined by mysterious events taking place. Honeymoon is a slow paced movie that at first I wasn’t sure if it was going to be any good. When I started the movie, I found myself not quite knowing what I was watching, but then the longer I watched the movie, the more intense it got. The ending might be one of the most intense scenes I’ve ever seen in a movie, and by the end, you’ll realize that this movie is quite different from what you thought it was going to be.

#6: Contracted (2013)

After being sexually assaulted, a woman contracts a mysterious STD. Contracted is an indie film that I found on Netflix, and it is one of the most disturbing. I didn’t think this movie was going to be any good, but it was. The reason that this movie is so good is because it makes you paranoid. Contracted makes you wonder how safe you think you are. And what kind of diseases are out there that we haven’t discovered? Contracted is the most disturbing on the list and will definitely creep you out.

#5: The Sacrament (2013)

Journalists help their friend locate his sister in a mysterious religious community that turns out not to be what it seems. Cults have always fascinated me so I knew that I was going to like The Sacrament. I’ve seen many cult movies and not many have captured how truly terrifying they are. I’ve always wondered how people can be brainwashed and The Sacrament gives you an in-depth look at how these communities operate. Needless to say, there is no happy ending.

#4: Starry Eyes (2014)

An aspiring actress enters into a deadly agreement and discovers that her fame will come at a price. Starry Eyes was a movie that I thought would be like the other bad scary movies that Netflix has, but as I watched this movie, I found that I couldn’t look away no matter how many times I wanted to. This movie shows just how desperate people are for fame and the length they would go to get that fame. Which begs the question, how far are you willing to go for everyone to know your name?

#3: Kristy (2014)

A college girl stays on an empty campus during the Thanksgiving break and is terrorized by mysterious strangers. Kristy was such a good movie because it was relatable. Even though I’ve never stayed on a college campus during the breaks, it made me ask myself would I be scared to do it? And after watching this movie, yes I would. I would definitely advise going home for all the holidays.

#2: The Invitation (2016)

A dinner party goes horribly wrong as a man starts to believe that the hosts have sinister plans for their guests. I went into The Invitation not knowing what I was getting myself into. I figured that this movie was going to be a simple slasher film, but then the movie got more and more darker the longer I watched it. When you realize why the guests were invited, you will never attend another dinner party again.

#1: V/H/S Series (2012-2014)

A collection of VHS tapes features a series of found footage shorts that show horrific content. The V/H/S Series was a movie that I came across on Netflix and by far is the best original horror film I have seen in a long long time. The V/H/S Series is unique, scary, gross, and fun all at the same time. Each individual short can be a stand alone movie by itself which shows just how good these movies are. I really enjoy this trilogy as both a fan of horror as well as a lover of movies in general.

Photo Image by John Silliman

 

Leave a Reply

