So Why Blog?

As a college student, I’m constantly asked what are you going to school for? It’s a question that I’m sure most people who attend college have heard. I get asked this at random moments when I’m least thinking about my impending future. The other adults in my life seem to think that I have some great plan. Like, really? I’m just trying to figure out this whole “adulting” thing. My parents seem to have an image for me that says that I should be in the workforce in a traditional 9-5 job. But that’s not the case. That’s not how I envision my life.

I imagine myself in a peaceful atmosphere doing what I love to do and that’s writing. Ever since I was a little girl, I have imagined worlds and characters and stories that allow me to escape for days. I had a great childhood, but I was always looking for an escape. I was looking for an experience that transcended me and that experience was reading and writing. Books were my first love, and when I discovered that I could make books just like other people could, I picked up a pencil and I started to create stories.

Ever since then I’ve been the type of person who has stories and ideas in their mind that they can’t get rid of until it’s written down. Putting pencil to paper and creating people and worlds where I get to decide everything is magic. I want to share my magic with everyone.

So to answer the question, why blog? I blog because I have ideas and thoughts that I have to get out of my head. I want to share my ideas, my stories, and my world with other people. Blogging is how I can do that. People connect to other people through words, and I believe that blogging is a good way to connect to people through my ideas and my thoughts.

Even though my blog is filled with my ideas, I encourage you to share yours. When you read my blogs, feel free to comment. I welcome criticism and encouragement. It’s how we all get better. I believe in everyone having a voice, and in this blog, I’m able to give you mine.

So to those people who question if I’m ever gonna be someone in life. To those people who ask what am I going to school for? I’m going to school to indulge myself with the thing I love to do. In life you’re going to learn that not everyone is going to believe in your dream. But, it’s okay. Because it’s not their dream. My dream is to be surrounded by words, and in a world of many voices, I have a right to my own. I believe in the power of sharing ideas and thoughts and blogging is how I’m going to share what I think.

Take that you 9-5 job.

Photo Image by Lauren Mancke

3 thoughts on “So Why Blog?

  1. I love this! This is exactly how I was. I was homeschooled most of my elementary and all of high school and I got very creative when it came to hiding my books under my notebook or inside my textbook when I was supposed to be doing math. For my junior year of high school I was doing so much research for the book I’m writing that it counted for 4 subjects and the only thing I had to formally study was math(which I hate). I’ve known I wanted to be a writer since 4th grade when my first book that I co-wrote with my Sunday school class was published. I live on a ranch and my dad really wants me to throw myself into the ranch life wholeheartedly but I don’t want to. I love my horse’s to much to move to the city to write full time though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

